Critical Medi-Cal VICTORY! Your calls needed NOW more than ever.

05/06/2015 12:35 PM | Jeanette McCulloch (Administrator)

About half of all birthing families in California are eligible for Medi-Cal.

Now, a major victory takes us one step closer to making those families eligible to receive coverage for a licensed midwife in California.

Yesterday, senior staff at the Dept of Health Care Services (DHCS) met with CAM representatives. In the meeting, DHCS officially acknowledged that there is no statutory barrier to Licensed Midwives enrolling as Medi-Cal providers independently from a physician or clinic. After 18 months of advocacy efforts to make this happen, we are thrilled!

There are still administrative steps needed to overcome this hurdle. CAM will be tracking these closely and working with DHCS to remove these barriers and we will keep you up-to-date.

Passage of SB407 is more important than ever - your calls needed now!

Passage of SB407 will provide expectant families with Medi-Cal coverage for a key element of care during pregnancy (the CPSP program, learn more here). 

SB407 is critical to our strategy to secure Medi-Cal coverage to include the care of a licensed midwife.

SB407 faces an important vote on Monday. Your calls are needed now! 

Four EASY steps in less than 5 minutes!

1) Find your State Senator here.

2) Call your senator today.

Ask them to “ask the appropriations committee to vote yes on SB 407.”

NOTE: Is your legislator on the appropriations committee? (See our list below). Instead ask them "vote yes on SB 407." Your legislator is especially important - please ask your neighbors to call as well!

(Click here for our quick guide to calling your legislator)

3) Tell us who you called here on Facebook

4) Share this blog post and this Facebook post with your friends. 

Senate Appropriations Members:

Senator Ricardo Lara (Chair)
Senator Patricia Bates (Vice Chair)
Senator Jim Beall
Senator Jerry Hill
Senator Connie Leyva
Senator Tony Mendoza
Senator Jim Nielsen

What areas do these legislators districts include? 
Click here to find your legislator or look for your community below:

Senator Ricardo Lara (Chair) district includes: the Los Angeles County cities and communities of Cudahy, Bell, Bell Gardens, Lynwood, Maywood, Signal Hill, Paramount, South Gate, Vernon, Walnut Park, Huntington Park, and most of Long Beach with portions of the cities of Lakewood and Los Angeles. To the north this district includes part of the group of Southeast cities of Los Angeles County: Vernon, Huntington Park, Bell, South Gate, Cudahy, Lynwood, and Paramount. 

Senator Patricia Bates (Vice Chair) district includes: the southern coastal region of Orange County from Laguna Niguel to the established coastal beach communities along San Diego County’s Interstate 5, including Camp Pendleton and San Onofre Nuclear Plant.

Cities in this district include Rancho Santa Margarita, Mission Viejo, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, San Juan Capistrano, San Clemente, Oceanside, Vista, Carlsbad, and Encinitas.

Senator Jim Beall district includes: a large portion of Santa Clara County, stretching from Cupertino east to Mount Hamilton and from Los Gatos north to San Jose’s Alum Rock District. The cities of Cupertino, Los Gatos, Campbell, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, and the San Jose communities of Willow Glen, Almaden, Evergreen, East San Jose, and Downtown are included within the district.

The district also contains vast rural expanses of unincorporated areas that extend to the Santa Cruz Mountains and the Stanislaus County border. 

Senator Jerry Hill district includes: San Mateo County south of SD 11 and northern Santa Clara County, including the sister cities of Mountain View and Sunnyvale. This district keeps the San Mateo coastline from Pacifica to the Ano Nuevo State Reserve and peninsula cities from South San Francisco to Sunnyvale together. South San Francisco is the only city split to achieve population equality.

Senator Connie Leyva district includes: Pomona, Chino, Montclair, Ontario, Fontana, Bloomington, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, and San Bernadino.

Senator Tony Mendoza district includes: Commerce, Montebello, Pico Rivera, Downey, Santa Fe Springs, Whittier, Hacienda Heights, La Habra Heights, La Miranda, Norwalk, Bellflower, Artesia, Cerritos, Buena Park, Lakewood, Hawaiian Gardens

Senator Jim Nielsen district includes: Manton, Paynes Creek, Mineral, Mill Creek, Red Bluff, Proberta, Gerber, Tehama, Corning, Flournoy, Vina, Forest Ranch, Orland, Chico, Magalia, Hamilton City, Paradise, Elk Creek, Artois, Durham, Berry Creek, Willows, Glenn, Nelson, Strawberry Valley, Clipper Mills, Richvale, Thermalito, Challenge, Butte City, Palermo, Camptonville, Princeton, Biggs, Rackerby, Bangor, Gridley, Oregon House, Dobbins, Maxwell, Live Oak, Browns Valley, Colusa, Smartsville, Williams, Sutter, Wheatland, Sheridan, Rio Oso, Robbins, Pleasant Grove, and Nicolaus

Your financial support makes our legislative work possible.

CAM's legislative agenda was designed to support you as a California licensed midwife. Our legislative work means additional costs, including travel to Sacramento, expert advice, and more.

Even small donations will make a big difference. Please consider a contribution today!

Click here to DONATE NOW

Privacy Policy
Copyright © California Association of Midwives. All rights reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software